Health and mental illness

Mental illness refers to a wide range of mental health conditions, disorders that effect your mood, thinking, and behavior. Mental illness includes depression, anxiety disorders, eating disorders and addictive behaviors. Many people we see walking down the street has a mental illness that we don’t know they have but these disorders are very serious. Many people have mental health concerns from time to time. But a mental health concern becomes a mental illness when ongoing signs and symptoms cause frequent stress and affect your ability to function. Mental illness can cause problems in your day to day life such as school, work, and even your relationships. In most cases these disorders can be controlled with medications.I suffer from anxiety and depression and yes take meds for it, I didn’t want to in the beginning. I was so worried about how people would look at me if they seen me taking my medications, I didn’t want people to think I was crazy or something like that, but I did it so I could be in a better place for myself and not only myself my son and relationship. Even with my medications I still have anxiety attacks and there’s days where I don’t want to leave my room or be around anyone. Its very hard to live a normal life with these disorders. I have a hard time keeping my relationship going at times because of my depression and not wanting to be around anyone so that makes my boyfriend feel like I don’t want to be with him at times cause I do push him away.Mental illnesses, in general, are thought to be caused by a variety of genetic and environmental factors:Inherited traits. Mental illness is more common in people whose blood relatives also have a mental illness. Certain genes may increase your risk of developing a mental illness, and your life situation may trigger it.Environmental exposures before birth. Exposure to environmental stressors, inflammatory conditions, toxins, alcohol or drugs while in the womb can sometimes be linked to mental illness.Brain chemistry. Neurotransmitters are naturally occurring brain chemicals that carry signals to other parts of your brain and body. When the neural networks involving these chemicals are impaired, the function of nerve receptors and nerve systems change, leading to depression.

Source: Health and mental illness

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

